Computer Science

Louisiana Act 541 (2022), the Computer Science Education Act, establishes the Computer Science Education Advisory Commission (CSEAC) to provide recommendations to the State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education through the Department of Education for the development and implementation of a state action plan for the delivery of education in computer science in all public schools. These meeting materials are now archived at the advisory council webpage.

On October 11, 2023, the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) received CSEAC’s report and directed the Louisiana Department of Education (LDOE) to begin the process of creating a state plan for computer science education. 

Louisiana's Vision for Computer Science

Louisiana’s vision for K-12 Computer Science Education is to increase digital literacy skills through engagement with a progression of computer science concepts and experiences which prepare all students for success in society and future career opportunities.

K-12 Computer Science Education Plan

The K-12 Computer Science Education Plan is currently in draft status. Any questions, comments or suggestions may be sent to

Computer Science K-12 Standards Writing Committee

Louisiana is currently engaged in the process of professional academic content standard setting for K-12 Computer Science. Thirteen Louisiana educators as well as representatives from Louisiana business and industry, universities, parent and community groups, and two Louisiana students will participate in the development of new K-12 Louisiana Student Standards for Computer Science by taking part in standards over the next several months.

The K-12 Computer Science Standard Writing Committee will meet on the following dates:
  • Tuesday, May 7, 2024

  • Friday, June 7, 2024

  • Thursday, June 20, 2024

  • Thursday, July 11, 2024

  • Tuesday, July 30, 2024

  • Tuesday, August 13, 2024

  • Tuesday, August 27, 2024

All meetings would be open to the public and will occur at the Claiborne Building in Baton Rouge from 9 a.m–4 p.m.

Meeting agendas and materials are archived in the Standards Review Committee Library.

Please direct any questions to