Jul 30, 2022

BATON ROUGE, La. –  For the first time in our state’s history, the Louisiana Department of Education (the Department), in partnership with Dream Teachers, recognized and celebrated some of Louisiana’s most exceptional early childhood educators through the Early Childhood Teacher and Leader of the Year program. In addition, educators who have demonstrated excellence in their very first year in the classroom were recognized with the first-ever New Teacher of the Year program. The winners for these inaugural awards were announced during the 16th Annual Cecil J. Picard Educator Excellence Awards Gala, held at the World War II Museum in New Orleans.

The 2023 Early Childhood Teacher of the Year is Annie Richardson of Caneview K-8 Headstart in West Baton Rouge Parish; the 2023 Early Childhood Leader of the Year is Rochelle Wilcox of Wilcox Academy in Orleans Parish; the 2023 New Teacher of the Year is Jordyn Vicknair of East Ascension High School, in Ascension Parish.

In partnership with Dream Teachers, the Department annually recognizes and celebrates the state's leading educators through Louisiana’s Educator Awards Programs. These programs provide an opportunity to acknowledge teachers and leaders who are making exceptional gains with students. This year, the Department and Dream Teachers also celebrated the state semifinalists, finalists, elementary, middle, high school and overall winners for Louisiana Teacher and Principal of the YearNew Teacher of the Year FinalistsEarly Childhood Teacher and Leader FinalistsMilken Educator Award recipients, Louisiana’s Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching honorees, and the recipient for the H. Norman Saurage III Service Award during this prestigious event. Information about the award programs celebrated at the Gala can be found on the Department’s Awards page.

# # # #