May 23, 2019

Overall State Winners to be Named at Celebration Ceremony on July 19 in Baton Rouge

BATON ROUGE, La. - The Louisiana Department of Education today announced the finalists for the 2020 Teacher and Principal of the Year awards during a reception hosted by First Lady Donna Edwards and Dream Teachers, LLC, at the Louisiana Governor's Mansion. The 18 finalists are elementary, middle, and high school educators from school systems across the state. Winners will be selected from this group and named at an awards ceremony this summer.

"It is my privilege to join the First Lady and our partners at Dream Teachers in honoring this talented and passionate group of educators from across the state," said State Superintendent John White. "These inspiring teachers and principals are leaders in their classrooms, as well as in their communities, and we are proud to call them Louisiana educators."

"Teachers and principals are two of Louisiana's greatest assets, and when we invest in them, we invest in our children," said First Lady Donna Edwards. "Educators often go above and beyond the call of duty to ensure the success of students, and this honor recognizes the exemplary dedication and skills they bring to the classroom every day. Their work is helping to create a brighter future for our young people and our state."

The 2020 Louisiana Teacher of the Year finalists include:

Lacey Blocker

Maplewood Middle School

Calcasieu Parish

Amanda Crane

Homer Elementary School

Claiborne Parish

Lisa Celestine Jack

Vidrine Elementary School

Evangeline Parish

Jessica Borland

South Grant Elementary School

Grant Parish

Brittany Legendre

Thibodaux High School

Lafourche Parish

Annie Smith

Lake Charles Charter Academy

Lake Charles Charter Academy Foundation

Jessica Breaux

Edward Hynes Charter School

Orleans Parish

Emily Ogden

Rayville High School

Richland Parish

Christopher Dier

Chalmette High School

St. Bernard Parish

The 2020 Louisiana Principal of the Year finalists include:

Brad Soileau

Oakdale High School

Allen Parish

Carli Francois

Dutchtown High School

Ascension Parish

Steven Schulz

South Beauregard Elementary School

Beauregard Parish

Lisa Burns

W.T. Lewis Elementary School

Bossier Parish

Christella Dawson

Neville High School

City of Monroe School District

Greg Hayden

Juban Parc Junior High School

Livingston Parish

Jennifer Dennis Carey

KIPP East Community

Orleans Parish

Charles Wright

Ouachita Junior High School

Ouachita Parish

Tamika Green

Albert Cammon Middle School

St. Charles Parish

This year, school systems submitted more than 200 nominations for Teacher and Principal of the Year. The Department named 48 semifinalists in April 2019. A state team then narrowed that pool to the 18 finalists named today. Those finalists will soon participate in face-to-face interviews with selection committees led by community and education leaders. The selection committees will ultimately choose the state division-level and overall winners.

All 2020 Teacher and Principal of the Year finalists and semi-finalists will be honored, and the overall state-level winners will be announced at the 13th Annual Cecil J. Picard Educator Excellence Symposium and Celebration on Friday, July 19, 2019, at the Crowne Plaza Executive Center in Baton Rouge. The event is co-sponsored by Dream Teachers, a nonprofit organization that partners with businesses, industry representatives, and organizations throughout the state to recognize and reward educators who model instructional excellence and dedication to serve the needs of children.

#  #  #  #  #  #