

Office of Early Childhood Care and Education

Early Childhood Care and Education Commission

Claiborne Building | Thomas Jefferson Room 1-136 | 1201 N. Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802 | Wednesday, August 28, 2024 | 1:00 p.m.

Livestream

Agenda

- I. Call to Order
- II. Roll Call
- III. Consideration of an update report regarding the meeting held July 17, 2024
- IV. Consideration of the September 2024 Early Childhood Care and Education Commission Report
- V. Informational Discussion:
 - A. Early Childhood in Action:

Dr. Mistie Perry Lasseigne, Nicholls State University

Rochelle Wilcox, Wilcox Academy at Southern University New Orleans

Commission Members

Co-Chairs: Sen. Beth Mizell and Rep. Barbara Reich Freiberg

- Conrad Appel Karen Austin Mellynn Baker Sen. Regina Barrow Mark Bond Dr. Susannah Craig Dr. Cynthia F. DiCarlo Rachel Dugas Rep. Kathy Edmonston Tara Emery Lindsey Fisher Rep. Barbara Reich Freiberg
- Jim Garvey Melissa Goudeau Dr. James Gray Angela Greaud Krystle Hilliard-Mitchell Mary Beth Hughes Dr. Mistie Perry Lasseigne Ruth Lawson Dr. Timothy Magner Sen. Beth Mizell Pheriche Perkins LeeAnn Price

Caitlyn Robinson Monique Rouege Monique Scott-Spaulding Dr. Libbie Sonnier Melissa Stilley Dr. Shanda Theriot Marcus S. Thomas Nancy Tooraen Lindsey Vicknair Kahree Wahid Shenoa Warren Rochelle Wilcox

In accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, if special assistance is needed at this public meeting of the LDOE, please notify Caitlyn Robinson via email at <u>Caitlyn.Robinson@la.gov</u>, at least three business days prior to the public meeting.



Office of Early Childhood Care and Education

Early Childhood Care and Education Commission

Minutes

The Early Childhood Care and Education Commission met on Tuesday, July 17, 2024, in the Thomas Jefferson Room, located in the Claiborne Building in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. The meeting was called to order at 10:05 a.m. Members present were Conrad Appel, Karen Austin, Dr. Susannah Craig, Dr. Cynthia F. DiCarlo, Rachel Dugas, Rep. Kathy Edmonston, Tara Emery, Rep. Barbara Freiberg, Jim Garvey, Angela Greaud, Dr. Leigh Griffin, Mary Beth Hughes, Dr. Mistie Perry Lasseigne, Pheriche Perkins, LeeAnn Price, Monique Scott-Spaulding, Dr. Libbie Sonnier, Dr. Shanda Theriot, Nancy Tooraen, Lindsey Vicknair, and Rochelle Wilcox.

Brittney Cochran served as proxy for Caitlyn Robinson, and Maria Blanco served as proxy for Kahree Wahid.

Ruth Lawson, Dr. Timothy Magner, and Melissa Stilley were not in attendance

A quorum was not present.

Representing the Louisiana Department of Education were Mellynn Baker and Karen Powell.

Without a quorum of the membership present the meeting was adjourned at 10:08 a.m.

Informal discussion among members present regarding agenda items continued until 11:25 a.m.

The LDOE provided an update regarding:

- A. Report regarding 2024-2025 ECCE Commission and Task Force Work
- B. Discussion regarding the September 2024 Early Childhood Care and Education Commission Report
- C. Discussion regarding funding design principles for Early Childhood Care and Education