

Early Childhood Care and Education Advisory Council

Claiborne Building | Thomas Jefferson Rm. 1-136 | 1201 North Third St., Baton Rouge, LA 70802 Wednesday, September 18, 2024 | 1:00 p.m.

Livestream

Agenda

- I. Call to Order
- II. Roll Call
- III. Approval of the minutes of the meeting held July 17, 2024
- IV. Consideration of revisions to Bulletin 137 Louisiana Early Learning Center Licensing Regulations
- V. Informational Reports:
 - A. Early Childhood Language and Literacy
 - B. Upcoming Activities

Council Members

Capt. Larry Badeaux Kristy Bennett Maria Blanco Carmen Brabham Brigit Bryant Rep. Kim Carver Dr. Michelle DeMeulenaere Sen. Rick Edmonds Aimee Ewing Jane Hamilton Deputy Chief Nicholas Heinen Antoinette Hoard Arielle Hughes Rep. Jason Hughes Jodie Joseph Dr. Ashley Lucas Tafta Miller Amy E. Moran Caroline Oglesby Norma Palma Jonathan Pearce Dr. Paula Polito Jen Roberts Dr. Libbie Sonnier Kellie Taylor-White Dr. Shanda Theriot David Thibodeaux Kahree Wahid Shannon Wyche Amy Zapata

In accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, if special assistance is needed at this public meeting of the LDOE, please notify Caitlyn Robinson via email at <u>Caitlyn.Robinson@La.Gov</u>, at least three business days prior to the public meeting.



Early Childhood Care and Education Advisory Council

Minutes

The Early Childhood Care and Education Advisory Council met on Wednesday, July 17, 2024, in the Thomas Jefferson Room, located in the Claiborne Building in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. The meeting was called to order at 1:02 p.m. by Maria Blanco, Vice Chair. Members present were Kristy Bennett, Carmen Brabham, Dr. Michelle DeMeulenaere, Aimee Ewing, Jane Hamilton, Arielle Hughes, Jodie Joseph, Dr. Ashley Lucas, Tafta Miller, Amy E. Moran, Norma Palma, Jonathan Pearce, Jen Roberts, Dr. Libbie Sonnier, Dr. Shanda Theriot, and David Thibodeaux.

Lt. Markus Smith served as a proxy for Capt. Adam Albright, and Jessica Nelson served as a proxy for Dr. Paula Polito.

Capt. Adam Albright, Brigit Bryant, Rep. Kim Carver, Sen. Rick Edmonds, Dep. Chief Nicholas Heinen, Antoinette Hoard, Rep. Jason Hughes, Caroline Oglesby, Dr. Paula Polito, Kellie Taylor-White, Kahree Wahid, Shannon Wyche, and Amy Zapata were not in attendance.

A quorum was present.

Representing the Louisiana Department of Education were Mellynn Baker and Karen Powell.

- 1. On motion of Mr. Pearce, seconded by Dr. Theriot, the Early Childhood Care and Education Advisory Council approved the minutes of the meeting held on May 8, 2024.
- 2. On motion of Dr. Sonnier, seconded by Ms. Miller, the Early Childhood Care and Education Advisory Council received the Louisiana Early Childhood Workforce Pilot Informational Report.
- 3. On motion of Dr. Sonnier, seconded by Mr. Pearce, the Early Childhood Care and Education Advisory Council endorsed the Quarterly Report-Quarter 2 (April-May 2024).

With no further business to come before the Early Childhood Care and Education Advisory Council, the meeting was adjourned at 2:39 p.m.