

Early Childhood Care and Education Advisory Council

Claiborne Building | Thomas Jefferson Rm. 1-136 | 1201 North Third St., Baton Rouge, LA 70802 Wednesday, November 20, 2024 | 1:00 p.m.

Livestream

Agenda

- I. Call to Order
- II. Roll Call
- III. Approval of the minutes of the meeting held September 18, 2024
- IV. Referral Revisions to Bulletin 137 Louisiana Early Learning Center Licensing Regulations
- V. Referral Revisions to Bulletin 139 Louisiana Child Care and Development Fund Programs
- VI. Informational Report: 2024 Early Childhood Care and Education Advisory Council Quarterly Report Quarter 3 (July-September)

Council Members

Capt. Larry Badeaux
Kristy Bennett
Maria Blanco
Carmen Brabham
Brigit Bryant
Rep. Kim Carver
Dr. Michelle DeMeulenaere
Sen. Rick Edmonds
Aimee Ewing
Jim Garvey

Jane Hamilton
Deputy Chief Nicholas Heinen
Antoinette Hoard
Arielle Hughes
Rep. Jason Hughes
Jodie Joseph
Dr. Ashley Lucas
Tafta Miller
Amy E. Moran
Caroline Oglesby

Norma Palma
Jonathan Pearce
Dr. Paula Polito
Jen Roberts
Dr. Libbie Sonnier
Dr. Shanda Theriot
David Thibodeaux
Kahree Wahid
Shannon Wyche
Amy Zapata

In accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, if special assistance is needed at this public meeting of the LDOE, please notify Caitlyn Robinson via email at Caitlyn.Robinson@La.Gov, at least three business days prior to the public meeting.



Early Childhood Care and Education Advisory Council

Minutes

The Early Childhood Care and Education Advisory Council (ECCE AC) met on Wednesday, September 18, 2024, in the Thomas Jefferson Room, located in the Claiborne Building in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. The meeting was called to order at 1:05 p.m. by Dr. Paula Polito, Chair. Members present were Capt. Larry Badeaux, Kristy Bennett, Carmen Brabham, Dr. Michelle DeMeulenaere, Sen. Rick Edmonds, Aimee Ewing, Jane Hamilton, Antoinette Hoard, Arielle Hughes, Jodie Joseph, Dr. Ashley Lucas, Tafta Miller, Caroline Oglesby, Norma Palma, Jonathan Pearce, Jennifer Roberts, Dr. Libbie Sonnier, Dr. Shanda Theriot, Kahree Wahid, and Shannon Wyche.

Jodi Loar served as proxy for David Thibodeaux, and Brittany Harris served as proxy for Amy Zapata.

Maria Blanco, Brigit Bryant, Rep. Kim Carver, Dep. Chief Nicholas Heinen, Rep. Jason Hughes, Amy Moran, David Thibodeaux, Kellie Taylor-White, and Amy Zapata were not in attendance.

A quorum was present.

Representing the Louisiana Department of Education were Mellynn Baker, Karen Powell, and Amy Poirier.

- 1. On motion of Dr. DeMeulenaere, seconded by Ms. Hughes, the Early Childhood Care and Education Advisory Council approved the minutes of the meeting held on July 17, 2024.
- 2. On motion of Mr. Pearce, seconded by Ms. Miller, the Early Childhood Care and Education Advisory Council deferred "Consideration of revisions to *Bulletin 137–Louisiana Early Learning Center Licensing Regulations*" until the November 20, 2024, ECCE AC meeting.

A roll call vote was taken:

Yeas: 14

Nays: 6 Absent: 10

Abstentions: None

The motion passed.

- 3. The LDOE provided informational reports regarding the following:
 - a. Early childhood language and literacy, and
 - b. Upcoming activities.

With no further business to come before the Early Childhood Care and Education Advisory Council, the meeting was adjourned at 3:00 p.m.