

# **Early Childhood Care and Education Advisory Council**

Claiborne Building | Thomas Jefferson Rm. 1-136 | 1201 North Third St., Baton Rouge, LA 70802 Wednesday, July 17, 2024 | 1:00 p.m.

Livestream

## **Agenda**

- I. Call to Order
- II. Roll Call
- III. Approval of the minutes of the meeting held May 8, 2024
- IV. Informational Reports:
  - A. 2024 Early Childhood Care and Education Advisory Council Quarterly Report Quarter 2 (April May 2024)
  - B. Louisiana Early Childhood Workforce Pilots

### **Council Members**

Capt. Adam Albright
Kristy Bennett
Maria Blanco
Carmen Brabham
Brigit Bryant
Rep. Kim Carver
Dr. Michelle DeMeulenaere
Sen. Rick Edmonds
Aimee Ewing
Jane Hamilton

Deputy Chief Nicholas Heinen
Antoinette Hoard
Arielle Hughes
Rep. Jason Hughes
Jodie Joseph
Dr. Ashley Lucas
Tafta Miller
Amy E. Moran
Caroline Oglesby
Norma Palma

Jonathan Pearce
Dr. Paula Polito
Jen Roberts
Dr. Libbie Sonnier
Kellie Taylor-White
Shanda Theriot
David Thibodeaux
Kahree Wahid
Shannon Wyche
Amy Zapata

In accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, if special assistance is needed at this public meeting of the LDOE, please notify Caitlyn Robinson via email at <a href="mailto:Caitlyn.Robinson@La.Gov">Caitlyn.Robinson@La.Gov</a>, at least three business days prior to the public meeting.



# **Early Childhood Care and Education Advisory Council**

#### **Minutes**

The Early Childhood Care and Education Advisory Council met on Wednesday, May 8, 2024, in the Thomas Jefferson Room, located in the Claiborne Building in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. The meeting was called to order at 1:02 p.m. by Dr. Paula Polito, Chair. Members present were Kristy Bennett, Maria Blanco, Carmen Brabham, Brigit Bryant, Dr. Michelle DeMeulenaere, Jane Hamilton, Deputy Chief Nicholas Heinen, Antoinette Hoard, Arielle Hughes, Jodie Joseph, Tafta Miller, Amy E. Moran, Norma Palma, Jonathan Pearce, Jen Roberts, Dr. Libbie Sonnier, Shanda Theriot, David Thibodeaux, Shannon Wyche, and Amy Zapata.

Lt. Markus Smith served as proxy for Captain Adam Albright, and Keenan Glover served as proxy for Aimee Ewing.

Capt. Adam Albright, Rep. Kim Carver, Sen. Rick Edmonds, Aimee Ewing, Rep. Jason Hughes, Dr. Ashley Lucas, Caroline Oglesby, Kellie Taylor-White, and Kahree Wahid were not in attendance.

#### A quorum was present.

Representing the Louisiana Department of Education were Mellynn Baker and Karen Powell.

- 1. On motion of Ms. Bryant, seconded by Dr. Sonnier, the Early Childhood Care and Education Advisory Council approved the minutes of the meeting held on February 20, 2024.
- 2. On motion of Dr. Sonnier, seconded by Dr. DeMeulenaere, the Early Childhood Care and Education Advisory Council endorsed the 2023 Annual Report.
- 3. On motion of Ms. Miller, seconded by Ms. Hoard, the Early Childhood Care and Education Advisory Council endorsed the Quarterly Report Quarter 1 (January March 2024).



4. On motion of Ms. Roberts, seconded by Mr. Pearce, the Early Childhood Care and Education Advisory Council received the report regarding Louisiana's Child Care and Development Fund State Plan timeline.

With no further business to come before the Early Childhood Care and Education Advisory Council, the meeting was adjourned at 3:00 p.m.