

Louisiana Environmental Education Commission

Minutes

The Louisiana Environmental Education Commission met on Thursday, May 2, 2024, in the Thomas Jefferson Room 1-136, located in the Claiborne Building in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. The meeting was called to order at 1:03 p.m. by Dinah Maygarden, Chair. Members present were Melanie Bauder, Adriane Bercegeay, Kevin Berken, Dean Blackett, Joey Breaux, Christopher Chappell, Murt Conover, Danielle Dilullo, Lindsey Keith-Vincent, Pierre LaCaze, Robin Narez, Jacqueline Richard, Lindsay Seely, Emily Snyder, and Molly Talbot.

Ashley Cain, Anne Case-Hanks, Scott Courtright, Jessica Dixon, Caitlin Joubert, Harry Lewis, and Blaise Pezold were not in attendance.

Representing the Louisiana Department of Education were Ashley Townsend and Sharon Necaise.

Public comment was received by Karen Ann Marshall.

A quorum was present.

- 1. On motion of Mr. Breaux, seconded by Ms. Richard, the Louisiana Environmental Education Commission approved the minutes of the meeting held February 1, 2024.
- 2. On motion of Ms. Dilullo, seconded by Ms. Talbot, the Louisiana Environmental Education Commission received the discussion regarding commission purpose and objectives.
- 3. On the motion of Ms. Talbot, seconded by Ms. Conover, the Louisiana Environmental Education Commission elected Jacqueline Richard to serve as vice chair.
- 4. On motion of Ms. Maygarden, seconded by Ms. Talbot, the Louisiana Environmental Education Commission received the discussion regarding the Environmental Literacy Plan.
- 5. On motion of Ms. Talbot, seconded by Ms. Bercegeay, the Louisiana Environmental Education Commission approved the 2024-2025 LEEC meeting dates, as amended.
- 6. On motion of Ms. Bercegeay, seconded by Ms. Richard, the Louisiana Environmental Education Commission received an update regarding LDOE environmental education initiatives.



With no further business to come before the Louisiana Environmental Education Commission, the meeting was adjourned at 3:06 p.m.

