

Environmental Education Commission Meeting Minutes February 3, 2022 Virtual Meeting

I. Call to order, Robin Narez: 1:00 p.m.

II. Roll Call: Commissioners Present - Murt Conover, Joey Breaux, Molly Talbot (proxy for Breigh Rhodes), Denise Bennett, Justin Gremillion, Robin Narez, Chris Conner, Brian Salvatore, Dean Blackett, Dinah Maygarden, Heather Egger, Pierre Lacaze, Brain Gautreau, Kea Sherman, Jessica Dixon

Also in attendance: Nathan Corley and Michelle Lewis, LDOE staff

III. Consideration of installation of presiding officer

Joey Breaux nominated Brian Gautreau to serve as presiding officer for this meeting, he accepted. Motion passes without comment or opposition.

IV. Minutes of the previous meeting

Pierre Lacaze motions and Murt Conover seconds to accept the May 11, 2021 minutes as presented. Motion carries without comment or opposition.

VI. Business

A. Officer Elections

- a. Special chair election
 - i. Kea Sherman nominates Brian Gautreau, he accepts.
 - 1. Kea Sherman moves to appoint Brian Gautreau chair, Joey Breaux seconds. No discussion or comment, motion passes without opposition.
- b. Chair-elect election
 - i. Joey Breaux nominates Heather Egger, she accepts.
 - 1. Joey Breaux moves to appoint Heather Egger chair-elect, Robin Narez seconds. No discussion or comment, motion passes without opposition.
- c. Secretary election
 - i. Robin Narez volunteers.
 - 1. Brain Gautreau moves to appoint Robin Narez secretary, Kea Sherman seconds. No discussion or comment, motion passes without opposition.
- B. Nathan Corley gives Commission an update of the 2021-2022 budget
- C. Environmental Literacy Plan
- a. Brian Gautreau, Brian Salvatore, Heather Egger, Murt Conover, Dinah Maygarden, and Robin Narez volunteer to serve on committee.
- D. LDOE staff gives updates on environmental education and science workstreams
- E. Next meeting announced for a Thursday afternoon TBD F. Commissioner announcements
- G. Brian Gautreau adjurns the meeting.