

The Department is excited to announce the ten finalists for the 2024-2025 Early Childhood Teacher and Leader of the Year award. These ten finalists will participate in an interview process, and the overall Early Childhood Teacher of the Year Honoree and the overall Early Childhood Leader of the Year Honoree will be announced at the 18th Annual Cecil J. Picard Educator Excellence Awards Gala that will be held on the evening of July 27th, 2024. This exciting event is co-sponsored by <a href="Dream Teachers">Dream Teachers</a>. Help us in congratulating these wonderful educators!

2024-2025 Teacher of the Year Finalists		
Finalist Name	Parish	Site Name
Julie Cook	East Baton Rouge	Greater Bridge Academy
Montrellani Gordon	East Baton Rouge	Young Scholars Academy
Tasha Jones	Franklin	Franklin Parish Head Start
Yashica Murphy	West Baton Rouge	Port Allen Elementary Head Start
Nicole Williams	Jefferson	Carousel Preschool
2024-2025 Leader of the Year Finalists		
Finalist Name	Parish	Site Name
Ashley Beal	East Baton Rouge	Young Scholars Academy
Tiffany Comeaux	Vermillion	United Way of Acadiana Abbeville Early Learning Center
Ava Hingle	Plaquemines	Kate & Allie's Child Care
Michelle Queen	Rapides	Bright Beginnings
Rockeisha Walker	Iberville	Bright Star

For questions about the Early Childhood Teacher and Leader of the Year awards program, please contact <a href="mailto:shallan.jones@la.gov">shallan.jones@la.gov</a>.

