

2023 LOUISIANA TEACHER + PRINCIPAL OF THE YEAR

The Louisiana Department of Education is proud to announce the 2023 Teacher and Principal of the Year winners. These educators are making exceptional gains with students, guiding them to achieve at the highest levels in the state. Their commitment to student success exemplifies Louisiana's teaching profession.

All Teacher and Principal of the Year finalists and semifinalists will be honored at the 16th Annual Cecil. J. Picard Educator Excellence Gala Celebration, which will be held at the World War II Museum in New Orleans. This exciting event is co-sponsored by **Dream Teachers**.

Congratulations to these outstanding educators!

2023 OVERALL TEACHER OF THE YEAR



Brittany Bonnaffons St. Charles Parish Twitter: @BritBonnaffons Mrs. Brittany Bonnaffons teaches 9th grade Algebra 1 at Hahnville High School in Luling. LA. She graduated from Louisiana Scholars' College at Northwestern State University where she earned a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration. She went on to earn a Master of Science in Business Administration from Louisiana State University, a Master of Science in Exercise Science from the University of Louisiana Monroe, as well as a Master of Arts in Teaching from Northwestern University. Historically, the Intensive Algebra students entering her class have scored unsatisfactory on their LEAP tests. Under her direction, 63% of Bonnaffons' students who were not on track to pass the LEAP and 93% of her remaining learners passed the Algebra 1 LEAP 2025, defying all odds. Bonnaffons' mission is to connect students to someone who has the answers they need. She believes math gives students perseverance, reasoning, and problem-solving skills, while the community makes connections. With that, Bonnafons works to connect students both inside and outside the classroom walls to others who are successful to help students become the best versions of themselves. In 2018, Bonnaffons became the head coach for the track team. Since that time, the team has captured four District Championship Team Titles, two Regional Runner-Up Team Titles, 50+ individual district medalists, 30+ individual regional medalists and 10+ state medalists. Bonnaffons' collaborates with the Gulf Coast Athletic Conference track and field championship and gives athletes the chance to see collegiate opportunities.

2023 OVERALL PRINCIPAL OF THE YEAR



Dr. David Schexnaydre, Jr. St. Charles Parish Twitter: @DrDSchex Dr. David Schexnaydre is the principal of Harry Hurst Middle School (Grades 6-8) in Destrehan, La. An award-winning teacher, administrator, and educational researcher, Schexnaydre is a Louisiana-born-and-bred educator who obtained his Bachelor of Science from Louisiana State University (2005), and his Master's of Education (2010) and Doctor of Philosophy (2016) from the University of New Orleans. His career as an educator began as a teacher and coach, and he was named the R.K. Smith Middle School Teacher of the Year in 2009 and the Louisiana Middle School Association Outstanding Teacher of the Year in 2011. Named principal at Hurst in 2018, Schexnaydre has worked tirelessly to build collaborative relationships with all stakeholders and drive positive change with curriculum, instruction, growth mindset, and mindfulness. His vision and leadership in these areas has transformed the school according to metrics in student achievement, student wellness, employee engagement, and community involvement. Outside of his accomplishments as principal, his doctoral dissertation won the Louisiana Educational Research Association's 2016 Outstanding Graduate Paper, and he was selected by the American Educational Research Association to present his research at their annual conference. In 2017, Schexnaydre was chosen by America Achieves and the Louisiana Department of Education for the Louisiana Educator Voice Fellowship, and in 2019, Southeastern Louisiana University hired him as an adjunct professor in their Master of Education Program, teaching the School-Community Relations course to aspiring leaders. Dr. Schexnaydre is a life-long learner, and an advocate and champion for Louisiana's educators and students.

2023 TEACHER DIVISION WINNERS



MATTHIAS DREWRY Elementary School – City of Monroe School District



SONJA DAVIS Middle School – Lake Charles Charter Academy



JUSTIN TEMPLET High School – St. Bernard Parish

2023 PRINCIPAL DIVISION WINNERS



HEATHER BROOKS Elementary School – Claiborne Parish



MICHAEL HILTON III Middle School – Ascension Parish



TAMELA PHILLIPS High School – DeSoto Parish

2023 TEACHER OF THE YEAR FINALISTS



GABRIEL GAFFORD Bossier Parish



EBONY WILLIAMS Iberville Parish



JAIMIE MOSLEY Ouachita Parish



EMILY TUTTLE Terrebonne Parish



KATIE HINES Vernon Parish

2023 PRINCIPAL OF THE YEAR FINALISTS



IRA WILSON Jefferson Parish



DR. JENNY BLALOCK Lincoln Parish



SHARON LATTEN CLARK Orleans Parish



DR. SEU HEE LEDET St. Tammany Parish



ANGELA GODWIN Vermilion Parish

2023 TEACHER OF THE YEAR SEMIFINALISTS

JESSICA WICHERS Belle Chasse Academy	GINGER ABNEY Bienville Parish	HANNAH COMEAUX Central Community School District	EMEE ASWELL Evangeline Parish	REBECCA JONES Franklin Parish
NICOLAS LAUNAY Iberia Parish	BAILEY LEE Jefferson Parish	STACY STUTES Lafayette Parish	ALEXA ROBINSON Morehouse Parish	ADDOREE STUCKEY Natchitoches Parish
DALON BIENEMY Plaquemines Parish	PONCHELLA DOUCET St. Mary Parish	STEPHANIE ROBERTSON Tangipahoa Parish	NICOLE MADERE University View Academy	KERRI LEE Zachary Community School District
2	2023 PRINCIPAI	OF THE YEAR	SEMIFINALIST	S
STEPHANIE PERRY Allen Parish	KATHERINE AUCOIN Assumption Parish	WESLEY HENRY Beauregard Parish	DR. MATTHEW MITCHELL Caddo Parish	ADAM CALDWELL Calcasieu Parish
KATIE HILLESTAD Caldwell Parish	ERICA AGUILLARD East Baton Rouge Parish	FRANCES LEBLANC Jefferson Davis Parish	CAROLYN WILKINSON Livingston Parish	KELLI CARRUTH WELCH Rapides Parish
CHAKIRA GAINES BROWN St. James Parish	DR. NICOLE MORRISON St. Landry Parish	CHRISTOPHER SHIRLEY St. Martin Parish	KELLEY STEIN West Baton Rouge Parish	MARK LESTER West Feliciana Parish



