

Computer Science Education Advisory Commission

Minutes

The Computer Science Education Advisory Commission met on Wednesday, June 28, 2023, in the Thomas Jefferson Room, located in the Claiborne Building in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. The meeting was called to order at 1:10 p.m. by Ashley Townsend, Chair. Members present were Fernando Alegre, Robin Cosenza, Darren Eady, Michael Faulk, Rep. Lance Harris, Robyn Lively, Jennifer Merritt, Dr. Juana Moreno, BESE Member Ronnie Morris, Sen. Kirk Talbot, and Dr. Sudhir Trivedi.

Kenyata Fountain served as proxy for Hasan Suzuk. Marsha Andrews served as proxy for Paul Helton. Mellynn Baker served as proxy for Terrie Sterling. Allison Vicknair served as proxy for Dr. Kim Hunter Reed.

Ava Cates, Dr. Ming-Hsing Chiu, Rep. Darryl Deshotel, Dr. James Henderson, Sen. Sharon Hewitt, Regena Landry, Chris Rondeau, and Dr. Derrick Warren were not in attendance.

A quorum was not present.

Representing the Louisiana Department of Education were Sharon Necaise, Jessica Vallelungo, Dr. Ernise Singleton, and Christy Belleu.

Without a quorum of the membership present, the meeting was adjourned at 1:15 p.m.

Informal discussion among members present regarding agenda items continued until 3:47 p.m.

The LDOE provided an update regarding:

- computer science as a foreign language;
- the integration of Artificial Intelligence into Louisiana's Computer Science Framework,
- stakeholder feedback;
- initial certification of computer science teachers;
- computer science high school graduation requirement, postsecondary entrance, and eligibility for the Taylor Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS);
- funding strategies for computer science teacher training and expansion of computer science courses offered in public schools; and
- technical assistance grants to expand computer science education in Louisiana.