

## **Computer Science Education Advisory Commission**

## **Minutes**

The Computer Science Education Advisory Commission met on July 25, 2023, in the Thomas Jefferson Room, located in the Claiborne Building in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. The meeting was called to order at 1:08 p.m. by Ashley Townsend, Chair. Members present were Fernando Alegre, Dr. Ming-Hsing Chiu, Rep. Darryl Deshotel, Rep. Lance Harris, Dr. James Henderson, Regena Landry, Robyn Lively, Jennifer Merritt, Dr. Juana Moreno, BESE Member Ronnie Morris, Sen. Kirk Talbot, Dr. Sudhir Trivedi, and Dr. Derrick Warren.

Marsha Andrews served as proxy for Paul Helton. Allison Vicknair served as proxy for Dr. Kim Hunter Reed. Charles Barnes served as proxy for Darren Eady.

Senator Sharon Hewitt, Terrie Sterling, Chris Rondeau, Ava Cates, Michael Faulk, Hasan Suzuk, and Robin Cosenza were not in attendance.

Public comments were received from Michael Stewart, Treyvon Reed, An Nguyen, and Ayron Beavers.

## A quorum was present.

Representing the Louisiana Department of Education were Sharon Necaise, Jessica Vallelungo, and Dr. Ernise Singleton.

- 1. On motion of Dr. Henderson, seconded by Mr. Morris, the Computer Science Education Advisory Commission approved the minutes of the meetings held May 3, 2023 and June 28, 2023.
- 2. On motion of Dr. Trivedi, seconded by Ms. Landry, the Computer Science Education Advisory Commission received the report regarding stakeholder feedback.
- 3. On motion of Mr. Morris, seconded by Dr. Trivedi, the Computer Science Education Advisory Commission received the Computer Science Education Advisory Commission Report.
- 4. On motion of Ms. Merritt, seconded by Ms. Landry, the Computer Science Education Advisory Commission recommended section two of the Computer Science Education Advisory Commission Report remain unchanged.

A roll call vote was taken.



Yeas: Fernando Alegre, Dr. Ming-Hsing Chiu, Rep. Darryl Deshotel, Rep. Lance Harris, Dr. James Henderson, Regena Landry, Robyn Lively, Jennifer Merritt, BESE Member Ronnie Morris, Sen. Kirk Talbot, Ashley Townsend, Dr. Sudhir Trivedi, and Dr. Derrick Warren

Nays: Dr. Juana Moreno

Abstentions: None

Absences: Senator Sharon Hewitt, Terrie Sterling, Chris Rondeau, Ava Cates, Michael Faulk, Hasan Suzuk, and Robin Cosenza

The motion passed.

- 5. On the motion of Dr. Henderson, seconded by Sen. Talbot, the Computer Science Education Advisory Commission endorsed the Computer Science Education Advisory Commission Report with the following recommendations:
  - Change second bullet of the Certification Requirements subsection to read as "Provide current 6-12 teachers the option of using the Praxis II Computer Science Content exam (5652) or a micro-credential portfolio to add a computer science certification to a 6-12 Louisiana teaching license and teach computer science courses that would fulfill the credit requirements of Louisiana R.S. 17:5025(5)(b)."
  - In the Additional Recommendations section of the report, include success metrics in the state wide computer science plan to measure overall effectiveness of the plan.
- 6. On the motion of Ms. Lively, seconded by Dr. Warren, the Computer Science Education Advisory Commission made a motion to cancel the August 2, 2023 meeting.

With no further business to come before the Computer Science Education Advisory Commission, the meeting was adjourned at 3:21 p.m.