

Overview

During the 2020 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, <u>Senate Concurrent Resolution 63</u> was enrolled to create a continuous learning task force to assist the state Department of Education in developing guidance for Louisiana educators to meet the immediate need of supporting learning outside of our normal practices.

Continuous learning is provided in school systems though standards-aligned instruction using high-quality curriculum during modified operations which includes:

- System level and school reopening plans,
- Technology access,
- Strategic communications plans,
- Versatile delivery methods,
- Adaptive staffing models, and
- Flexible calendars and schedules.

The Continuous Learning Task Force will create recommendations to LDOE on long term continuous learning improvements.

2021 Meeting Dates

All meetings will take place at the Claiborne Building in Baton Rouge, LA.

April 28, 1:00-3:00 PM May 18, 1:00-3:00 PM June 21, 1:00-3:00 PM July 28, 10:00 AM-12:00 PM

Membership

Seat	Member	Title/Organization
An appointee by the governor	Richard Hartley	Senior Policy Advisor, Governor's Office
A member of the LA Senate, appointed by the Senate president	Katrina Jackson	Senator, LA Senate
A member of the LA House of Representatives, appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives	Polly Thomas	Representative, LA House of Representatives
The State Superintendent of Education	Em Cooper	Executive Director of Academic Strategy
A member of BESE, appointed by the president	Ashley Ellis	Secretary-Treasurer, Board of Secondary and Elementary Education
A designee of Louisiana Television Educational Authority	Nancy Tooraen	Education Manager, Louisiana Public Broadcasting



Continuous Learning Task Force

Seat	Member	Title/Organization
A designee of the LA School Boards Association	Dr. Wendy Baudoin	Board Development/Legislative Specialist, Louisiana School Boards Association
A designee of the LA Public Charter School Association	Gordan Ford	Executive Director, Lincoln Preparatory School
A designee of the Associated Professional Educators of LA	Keith Courville	Executive Director, A+PEL
A designee of the LA Association of Educators	Blaine Robertson	Master Teacher, East Saint John High School
A designee of the LA Federation of Teachers	Cynthia Posey	Legislative and Political Director, LAFT
A designee of the Council for a Better LA	Barry Erwin	President, CABL
A designee of the LA Association of Business and Industry	Lauren Gleason	Director of Education/Workforce Development & Healthcare, LABI
A designee of the Public Affairs Research Council of LA	Steven Procopio	Policy Director, PAR
A local school superintendent of a school district with a student population in excess of ten thousand students, designated by the LA Association of School Superintendents	Jeff Powell	Superintendent, Rapides Parish School System
A local school superintendent of a school district with a student population of less than ten thousand students, designated by the LA Association of School Superintendents	Bill Kennedy	Superintendent, Claiborne Parish School System
A designee of the LA Principals Association	Joe David	Executive Director, LAP
A parent of public school children, selected by BESE from nominees of the individual members of the board	Kristen Steiner	Parent
A parent of public school children, whom shall be a parent of a child who is designated in need of special education services, selected by BESE from nominees of the individual members of the board		Parent