

Accountability Council Overview

Updated May 2024

AUTHORITY/HISTORY

Louisiana's Accountability Council was established by the Louisiana Board of Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) in 2013 to advise BESE and the Louisiana Department of Education regarding matters involving school and district accountability. The Council regularly makes accountability policy recommendations to BESE. In particular, it is responsible for working with BESE to make revisions under the federal Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) and to establish the timeline and benchmarks needed to gradually raise the standard for student proficiency such that the average student in a school or district with a letter grade of "A" achieves at least "mastery" on state assessments, per Bulletin 111 The Louisiana School, District, and State Accountability System.

2024 MEETING DATES

- January 29, 2024 Canceled
- May 6, 2024
- September 16, 2024
- November 18, 2024

All materials for Accountability Council meetings will be posted in Boarddocs.

MEMBERSHIP ROLES & APPOINTING AUTHORITIES Chair: Sandy Holloway (ex-officio) LDOE Staff Contacts: Thomas Lambert, Emilia Urban, Chelsea Haley

Role	Appointing Authority	Member	Title	Organization
BESE Member	BESE President	Conrad Appel	Board Member	BESE
School Board Member	BESE	Jared Bercegeay	School Board Member	Ascension Parish School Board
Educator	BESE	Michelle Clayton	Education Consultant	
Postsecondary Ed Representative	BESE	Susannah Craig	Associate Commissioner for Teacher and Leadership Initiatives	Board of Regents
Principal Representative	State Superintendent	Joseph David	Executive Director	Louisiana Association of Principals
Parent	BESE	Ellen Davis	Parent	Parent Representative
Community Representative	BESE	Carson DeLarue	Director of Governmental Affairs	Associated Builders and Contractors
LEA Administrator	State Superintendent	Michelle Douglas	Hynes Charter Schools Chief Executive Officer	Hynes Charter School Corporation
District Superintendent	State Superintendent	Jason Fountain	Central Community School System Superintendent	Central Community School System
Charter School Representative	State Superintendent	Millie Harris	Executive Director of JCFA	JCFA, St. Bernard Parish School Board
Non-Voting Member	State Superintendent	Sandy Holloway (chair, ex-officio)	BESE Board Member	BESE
Nonpublic School Representative	BESE	RaeNell Houston	Superintendent of Catholic Schools	Archdiocese of New Orleans Catholic Schools
Community Representative	BESE	Mary Beth Hughes	Director of Education & Workforce Development	Louisiana Association of Business and Industry

LAE Representative	Louisiana Association of Educators	Tia Mills	President	Louisiana Association of Educators
LEA Administrator	BESE	Barbara Moseley	Special Education Supervisor	Catahoula Parish Schools
LFT Representative	Louisiana Federation of Teachers	Cynthia Posey	Legislative and Political Director	Louisiana Federation of Teachers
Educator	State Superintendent	Carol Price	High School Math Teacher	Baton Rouge Magnet High School
LEA Representative	BESE	Dana Talley	Chief Academic Officer	Lincoln Parish Schools
Pupil Appraisal	State Superintendent	Ashley Terry	Counselor	DeSoto Parish Schools
A+PEL Representative	Associated Professional Educators of Louisiana	Lee Ann Wall	State Past-President	Associated Professional Educators of Louisiana