

AUTHORITY/HISTORY

Louisiana's Accountability Council was established by the Louisiana Board of Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) in 2013 to advise BESE and the Louisiana Department of Education regarding matters involving school and district accountability. The Council regularly makes accountability policy recommendations to BESE. In particular, it is responsible for working with BESE to make revisions under the federal Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) and to establish the timeline and benchmarks needed to gradually raise the standard for student proficiency such that the average student in a school or district with a letter grade of "A" achieves at least "mastery" on state assessments, per Bulletin 111 The Louisiana School, District, and State Accountability System.

2023 MEETING DATES

- February 6, 2023
- March 27, 2023
- May 8, 2023
- November 6, 2023

2024 MEETING DATES

- January 29, 2024
- May 6, 2024
- September 16, 2024
- November 18, 2024

All materials for Accountability Council meetings will be posted in Boarddocs.



MEMBERSHIP ROLES & APPOINTING AUTHORITIES

Chair: Patty Glaser (ex-officio) LDOE Staff Contacts: Thomas Lambert, Emilia Urban, Chelsea Haley

Role	Appointing Authority	Member	Title	Parish, School System, Organization
Charter School Representative	State Superintendent	Angela Beck	Superintendent	Redesign Schools Louisiana
Postsecondary Ed Representative	BESE	Susannah Craig	Associate Commissioner for Teacher and Leadership Initiatives	Board of Regents
Principal Representative	State Superintendent	Joseph David	Executive Director	Louisiana Association of Principals
Community Representative	BESE	Brian Davis	Director of Education & Workforce Development	Louisiana Association of Business & Industry
Nonpublic School Representative	BESE	Ingrid Fields	Associate Superintendent	Archdiocese of New Orleans
Non-Voting Member	State Superintendent	Patty Glaser (chair, ex-officio)	CEO/Founding Head of School	Kenner Discovery Health Sciences Academy
Pupil Appraisal	State Superintendent	Lillian Holley	Director of Special Education	Bossier Parish School Board
District Superintendent	State Superintendent	Kelli Joseph	Superintendent	St. Helena Parish
LEA Administrator	BESE	Karin Lawless	Supervisor of Assessment, Accountability and Mathematics	Zachary Community School District
Educator	BESE	Kylie Martin	7th grade science teacher	Bayou Blue Middle School (Lafourche Parish)
LAE Representative	Louisiana Association of Educators	Tia Mills	President	Louisiana Association of Educators
Community Representative	BESE	Brigitte Nieland	Government Affairs Director	Stand for Children LA
School Board Member	BESE	Chad Nugent	School Board Member	Jefferson Parish



BESE Member	BESE President	Kira Orange Jones	BESE Member	BESE
LFT Representative	Louisiana Federation of Teachers	Cynthia Posey	Legislative and Political Director	Louisiana Federation of Teachers
Educator	State Superintendent	Carol Price	High School Math Teacher	East Baton Rouge
LEA Administrator	State Superintendent	Judy Vail	Accountability Coordinator	Calcasieu Parish
Parent	BESE	Virginia Monceret	Parent	Pointe Coupee Parish
A+PEL Representative	Associated Professional Educators of Louisiana	Lee Ann Wall	State Past-President	Associated Professional Educators of Louisiana
LEA Representative	BESE	Serena White	District Supervisor	Monroe City Schools