

K-12 Computer Science Content Standards Writing Steering Committee

Minutes

The K-12 Computer Science Content Standards Writing Steering Committee met on Thursday, July 11, 2024, in the Thomas Jefferson Room, located in the Claiborne Building in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. The meeting was called to order at 9:05 a.m. by Ashley Townsend, Chair Members present were Dr. Bonnie Achee, Dr. Amanda Austin, Dr. Clint Coleman, Dr. Lynette Jackson, Dr. Laurie Salvail, Jewell Simon, and Rebecca Snead.

Dr. Suresh Chiruguru and Stephen Goebel were not in attendance.

A quorum was present.

Also present were Jamie Hebert and Molly Talbot.

Representing the Louisiana Department of Education were Jamie Mixon, Dr. John Underwood, and Elizabeth Wrzesinski.

- 1. On motion of Dr. Achee, seconded by Dr. Coleman, the K-12 Computer Science Content Standards Writing Steering Committee approved the minutes of the meeting held June 20, 2024.
- 2. On motion of Dr. Austin, seconded by Dr. Coleman, the K-12 Computer Science Content Standards Writing Steering Committee received a summary report regarding the grade band workgroup recommendations for computer science content standards on Concept 3: Data and Analysis.
- 3. On motion of Mr. Simon, seconded by Ms. Snead, the K-12 Computer Science Content Standards Writing Steering Committee endorsed the recommendations for computer science content standards on Concept 3: Data and Analysis.

* * * * *

At 10:06 a.m., the steering committee recessed for computer science grade band workgroup breakout sessions.

The steering committee reconvened at 1:55 p.m.



* * * * *

4. On motion of Dr. Coleman, seconded by Mr. Simon, the K-12 Computer Science Content Standards Writing Steering Committee received an update report regarding the work of the computer science grade band workgroups.

With no further business to come before the K-12 Computer Science Standards Writing Steering Committee, the meeting was adjourned at 2:04 p.m.