

## K-12 Computer Science Content Standards Writing Steering Committee

## **Minutes**

The K-12 Computer Science Content Standards Writing Steering Committee met on Tuesday, May 7, 2024, in the Thomas Jefferson Room, located in the Claiborne Building in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. The meeting was called to order at 9:02 a.m. by Ashley Townsend, Chair. Members present were Dr. Bonnie Achee, Dr. Amanda Austin, Lacey Bass, Sandi Bourque, Dr. Suresh Chiruguru, Dr. Clint Coleman, Crystal DeMoura, Jackson Desalvo, Ned Fasullo, Tia Fields, Melissa Flowers, Avery Louise Geraci, Stephen Goebel, Lea Ann Hawkins-Fisher, Dr. Lynette Jackson, Dr. Alva Millican, Dr. Chris Oubre, Dr. Begona Perez-Mira, Bill Ray, Dr. Vassil Roussev, Laurie Salvail, John Schnake, Laurie Seeder, Jewell Simon, and Rebecca Snead.

Christina Cope and Shirley Neal were not in attendance.

A quorum was present.

Representing the Louisiana Department of Education were Sharon Necaise and Jamie Mixon.

- 1. On motion of Dr. Coleman, seconded by Mr. Goebel, the K-12 Computer Science Content Standards Writing Steering Committee received the report on the K-12 Computer Science Education Plan.
- 2. On motion of Dr. Oubre, seconded by Mr. Simon, the K-12 Computer Science Content Standards Writing Steering Committee received the Louisiana Computer Science Framework.
- 3. On motion of Dr. Achee, seconded by Ms. Flowers, the K-12 Computer Science Content Standards Writing Steering Committee received the break-out sessions for computer science grade band work groups.

\* \* \* \* \*

At 10:24 a.m., the steering committee recessed for computer science grade band breakout sessions.

The steering committee reconvened at 2:33 p.m.

\* \* \* \* \*



4. On motion of Dr. Coleman, seconded by Mr. Schnake, the K-12 Computer Science Content Standards Writing Steering Committee received the update report regarding the computer science grade band work groups.

With no further business to come before the K-12 Computer Science Content Standards Writing Steering Committee, the meeting was adjourned at 2:43 p.m.